You have no items in your shopping cart.


Welcome to Maharshi Ayurveda
Contact Us: Call +91-8860044488

Knowing your physiology through Ayurveda

The principle of biological individuality is central to Ayurvedic diagnosis and treatment. There is an unseen but well perceived link between mind and body exerting a deep and powerful influence over the body in terms of health and longevity.

Maharishi Ayurveda has identified the points of connection between mind and body. The specific meeting point of mind and body has constellation of unique psychophysiological characteristics that constitute the individual.

Following is a brief description of the components of our body as described by Ayurveda


Fundamental principles of the physiology. Regulate and govern thousands of separate functions in mind / body system. They are of three types:-

Vata dosha (V) represents motion and flow. Physiologically, it is at the basis of respiration, circulation and neuromuscular activity. Vata imbalance predisposes to diseases of the nervous system, chronic pain, cardiac arrhythmias, rheumatic disorders, constipation, anxiety and insomnia. Its chief site in the body is in the Large Intestine.

Pitta dosha (P) directs all metabolic activities, energy exchange and digestion. Pitta imbalance predisposes to peptic ulcers, hypertension, inflammatory bowel diseases, skin diseases and allergic reactions. It is also responsible for anger, envy and jealousy and its chief site in the body is around the Navel region.

Kapha dosha (K) represents structure and cohesion and fluid balance. Kapha imbalance predisposes towards diseases of the respiratory system, sinusitis, diabetes mellitus, obesity, atherosclerosis and tumors. It is also responsible for feelings of attachment and greed. Its chief site in the body is in the Chest.

When VPK, are in balance, health is optimal and when the balance is disturbed, health problems surface.


Fire (heat), in our body, takes the form of the digestive Juices, known as Agni.

Ayurvedic treatment is mostly about sustaining and balancing the Agnis.

They have the qualities of heat and transformation, and are responsible for cooking and digestion of food.

There are 13 types of Agnis

Jatharagni (Digestive Secretions) is made up of five Bhootagnis and is mainly located in the stomach, large and small intestines. It converts food into nutrient plasma that circulates throughout the body and it.

5 Bhootagnis (Earth, Water, Fire, Air, Space)

7 Dhatuagnis (Plasma, Blood, Muscle tissue, Fat tissue, Bone tissue, Bone marrow & tissue of the nervous system, reproductive tissue)

Effects of Agni

Clear Complexion



Clarity of Mind


Long Life Span

Weak Agni:-





Bad Breath


Factors affecting Agnis:-

Fasting and Over-eating

Eating before digestion of meals

Eating during indigestion

Eating unwholesome food

Suppression of natural urges

Faulty elimination habits